Nature’s Self-Reset Button

“In all things nature there is something 

of the marvelous.” ~ Aristotle

open road, hwy 22, highway driving, road trip, big skies, big sky, open sky, blue sky, puffy white clouds, getaway, nature

Highway 22

This weekend, I found my reset button at Dogpatch. Really, the button was already partly pressed once I made it through Sundre, the traffic thinned, and all I had in front of me was green and gold and blue and white to endlessly welcome me into oblivion. Doesn’t take long to forget the world on an Alberta highway.

Still Highway 22

Still Highway 22

I fear this post may become rambly as I talk about, well, nothing really. Which is what made that 40 or so hours so ultimately perfect. This next photo is about three hours later. Nothing really all that different aside from the continuing expanse of uninterrupted blue sky and the lengthening evening shadows. Seems like the same photos, same sights for four hours, but really, quite different.

The driveway.

The driveway.

As I pulled into the “driveway” of grass tunnelled by poplars that reset button was just a single iota away from being fully depressed – the opening of the car door to be assaulted by the sounds of frog frenzy was the final clincher.

ANYway, last night before hitting the sack shortly after the sun did, I wrote – on paper – what I thought I might type up here today. And so, I am going to do my best to not over-edit and allow my fully-reset-still-out-in-nature words (and a few more photos!) be enough for today.

 

 

“One touch of nature makes

the whole world kin.”

~ William Shakespeare

 

May 17, 2014
9:00 pm

My students’ homework for this weekend was to “Find solitude at least once.” By the end of Thursday afternoon, I felt I needed to complete the assignment myself. Twenty-four hours after arriving at Dogpatch I am more at peace inside and out than I can say. Not that my life is necessarily that tumultuous on a day-to-day basis, but it is like I have pressed a “reset” button somewhere and now am ready to start all over again.

P1010178After a deliciously sunny drive on a secondary highway that took me out of a giant city through progressively smaller towns, villages, hamlets, I arrived to a crackling campfire, smiling dog, and a welcoming Auntie. After a strolling tour of the latest developments and a bowl of green jello (oh my goodness, how tasty is JELLO?!), I settled into my private cabin.

poplar trees, early morning sunshine, 530 am, windowThe 5:30 am sunshine and flashing brand-new leaves of the poplar trees whispered, “wake up!” through my window until I deemed it reasonable to roll out of bed.

Leisurely coffee on the front porch of Auntie M’s cabin and I dug a little further for that reset button while digging a garden. I’m sore already but that three hour digging, turning, hoeing, seeding, flattening, marking of lettuce, swiss chard, and carrots under the blazing morning sun to the beat of a cricket chorus never felt so good.

The view from porch while writing this!

The view from porch while writing this!

The timeless day continued with shady snack breaks, lunch, reading, napping, sunning, horse and cousin visiting, no clock-watching and the evening on my porch with my own tea pot and my own time to continue doing nothing and everything.

A perfect 40 hours that felt like a week’s escape.

Stay tuned to www.kimberlycave.ca for more about the homework assignment coming soon!

Hover or click on the photos for caption and a BIG-sized look.

“Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there really is no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.” ~ John Ruskin

Leave a Reply

