A Calgary Summer!

Summer 2013; Part II
July 9 – 28

This July marked the first time I’d spent so many consecutive days in Calgary during the summer holidays. I decided that after five summers living in Calgary but summering in the Okanagan it was time to log some serious hours in my new home city. It turned out to be a fantabulous three weeks and am looking forward to doing it again next summer!

calgary stampedeMy first week consisted of unpacking my road trip gear, visiting and doing errands with friends, hanging out at Tegan’s lake, and checking out the Calgary Stampede for the first time since I was 13 years old! We went as a family the summer before Grade 8 and I’ve never been in Calgary during Stampede time since moving here. I considered this my Stampede test run year and next year will do it right. The highlight of Day 1 at Stampede was buying a cowboy hat – finally! Day 2 was mostly another day of wandering and building anticipation for next year’s advance purchase of tickets for the Grandstand show and having a day on the rides and doing more than just a cursory wander of the grounds.

gull lakeGull Lake’s extravagant depth of 8 metres began calling out to us, so Tegan and Justine and their kids and I went camping for two nights of snacking, beaching, and wildnerness-ing just north of Red Deer. Despite the blinding rainstorm we arrived in, we got set up relatively dry and our full day at the beach was sunny and warm from start to finish. For the remainder of the week I took full advantage of the requirement to do nothing and caught up on organizing that which had been waiting for years, errands, meeting with friends, and generally lazing about in the sun or the cool shade of my condo.

sun_salsaTammy came for a weekend of walking, the Sun and Salsa Festival in Kensington. I wrapped up Tammy’s lovely visit by dragging her into work with me and help set up my new classroom. She was my hero by sorting out the mass amounts of “junk” that make up the Play bins that make Friday mornings the best ever! I spent all day Tuesday at work also and it was teeeeeeriffic. The rest of my week was filled with perfect summer activities at the perfect summer speed – essentially nothing important taking as much or as little time as I wanted to complete it.

On Saturday night, Evan and Elyssa, who I met in Adelaide, spent the evening and we hit Canmore for breakfast and a wander before Part II of my summer ended as I headed to the Okanagan for Part III of sum!

Sorry no pictures today! I suppose this one’s more for my own record keeping than anything else!! Part III comes soon!

Leave a Reply

