Fields, Mountains, Lakes, Happiness

car, gas, windshield, road trip, windy, calgary, alberta

It was REALLY windy getting gas and washing the windows!

February 15, 2013

Sunshine, harvested crops, farmhouses, clouds, snow-covered mountains. A majestic highway drive from Calgary to Canmore was the finale of mine and Courtney’s Friday afternoon. Post-convention and shoe shopping (check those stories and photos at my Kimberly’s Cave site) we filled up our bellies and gas tank in the outrageous prairie wind and ventured towards the overwhelming Rocky Mountains. Every single time I drive through them or fly over them (say, about 35 times in the last six years?) they still take my breath away. One – that they even exist; two – that I am fortunate enough to live in a country that ran a highway through them; and three – that my family and I live on either side of them so I get to visit with them multiple times a year. Such a lucky gal I am!

Enjoy the beauty of the Alberta foothills and Rocky Mountains both in the middle of nowhere, and just hangin’ out right behind the town of Canmore. I’m no master photographer, but please click on the photos to see them full size. Then get to the Rockies yourself and experience them firsthand.

Leave a Reply

