The Strangest Thing

The strangest thing has happened…last week I looked at my e-mail/Wordpress followers and I officially have more followers that are complete strangers than I do that are friends or family! I started this blog in January for myself as a journal of my year and my family and friends to keep track of what I was doing and where I was going halfway around the world. Turns out, others are also enjoying the adventures!

To my unknown followers – welcome! And thank you! I am so flattered and appreciate the comments, likes, and idea that you are on this blogging and travelling journey with me. Also to my unknowns, this is a heads-up about the whole family/friends/personal journal intent so the less-than-adventurous posts about my teaching terms and in-town weekend shenanigans aren’t quite as ‘travel-oriented’ as those written about my holidays in between each term.

To my family and friends – hope you’re still out there and following my adventures. I’d love to hear about some of yours!

And so, here begins a Term 3 overview. It blows my mind that seven weeks have already gone by! Moments after waving Courtney goodbye at the airport, I basically started counting down the weeks until I went home for her wedding. I managed to make no connection to how much time was flying by – WOW! So, three more weeks of work until I’m on a long ass plane ride back to the Okanagan for ten days.

(Sorry, no photos on this post – the links can provide visual entertainment for this post!)

Here are a few highlights from the last seven weeks:

* a fancy-pants dinner and tour at Parliament House with the exchange group; we were even mentioned in a session and will forever be in the Parliament records!

* we started watching Bill Nye the Science Guy episodes with the Year Ones – they LOOOOVVVVEEEE him – as do I!

* a weekend in Goolwa with exchangees to whale watch; and, of course, a stop at the Port Elliott bakery

* an awesome Scholastic workshop about literacy (also included a sweet stat about Canadian education – yahoo!)

* the ABSOLUTE, without question, BEST ever head massage during a haircut EVER in my LIFE!

* another visit to Goolwa and Port Elliott on a perfect Sunday  

* Walk A Mile in my Boots Day on which I got to wear my pink cherry boots!!

* Book Week – oh, so many books we read this week! AND we got to dress up as a storybook character. How fun!

* a refreshing and revitalizing Isagenix 30-day nutrition boost and cleanse

* a massage like no other that left me a pile of jello all night and relaxed muscles for days following

* SAETL Annual Dinner with fellow exchangees and future exchange teachers heading to Vancouver next year – felt great to help prepare those getting set for this year of unbelievable experiences

* an iPad workshop that has convinced me I will have to buy myself one for the classroom at home; making a Lego movie about a dinner roll and experiencing stunned silence followed by peals of hysterical laughter from 50 six and seven year olds when we showed it to them

One response to “The Strangest Thing

Leave a Reply

